Butler not a Hall of Fame Finalist

Butler not a Hall of Fame Finalist

Butler not a Hall of Fame Finalist

The Hall of Fame announced today that former safety Ed Reed is a finalist for the 2019 class.

Guard Steve Hutchinson, center Kevin Mawae, running back Edgerrin James, and coach Tom Flores, all former Seahawks, were among the 15 Modern-Era Finalists revealed.

Although previously eligible, Flores - who coached two Oakland Raiders teams to Super Bowl titles - and longtime defensive lineman Seymour are finalists for the first time. The contributing finalists are owner Pat Bowlen and executive Gil Brandt. Including the modern cap of five, between four and eight new members will be elected. Inductions will be on August 3 at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. While with the Chiefs, Gonzalez was named to 10 Pro Bowls and earned five All-Pro nods. He got them to a 13-3 team where they lost in the AFC Championship Game to the Steelers and ended up finishing his career there in the Ring of Honor. The legendary tight end was inducted into the Chiefs' Hall of Fame on December 13. He finished his career with 1,325 receptions, which ranks second in National Football League history, to go along with 15,127 receiving yards and 111 touchdowns.

Fellow cornerback Bailey played 15 seasons with Washington and Denver and was a three-time All-Pro.

Gonzalez, a 14-time Pro Bowl player and six-time All-Pro tight end with the Chiefs and Falcons, retired as the NFL's second all-time leader in receptions with 1,325. He is seventh all time with 64 interceptions.

If Reed is chosen for induction, he would become the third Hall of Famer who spent the majority of his career with the Ravens.

Lynch has plenty of competition among this year's finalists as there are four other defensive backs on the list: Steve Atwater, Ed Reed, Champ Bailey and Ty Law.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]